About Us

Centerboard Yacht Club is located in South Portland, Maine, with frontage on and a mooring field in Portland Harbor.  Founded in 1937 as a sailboat racing club, CYC has evolved into an organization that promotes all aspects of yachting, both sail and power.  Its facilities are maintained by club members through the various work parties held during the season.  CYC also promotes numerous social events throughout the year, including club cruises, local sailing regattas and weekly sailboat races in Casco Bay . 

More about the history of Centerboard Yacht Club

2017-2018 Flag Officers

 Commodore: Andy Synder
 Vice Commodore: Todd Friberg
 Rear Commodore:  Scott Calkin
 Secretary: Dick Curry
 Treasurer: Wickes Rossiter
 Immediate Past Commodore: Greg Walsh


Courtney Babyak
John Sexton
Cheryl Jones
Josh Cutler
Tim Twomey
Susan Rose

Committee Chairs

House Committee – Greg Walsh
Entertainment – Louise Valati
Fleet Captain Galley – Sue Mahoney
Fleet Chaplain – Tom Osborne
Club Cruise - TBD
Government Liaison – Dick Ingalls
Launch – Josh Biermann
Membership – Bob Doran
Mooring – Gordon Turcotte    
Program & Education – Greg Walsh
Race – 
GMORA Representative - Josh Biermann
Sail School – Chris Fream & Heather Evans
Finance – Tim Benoit
Technology and Website – Bob Vautin

Active Past Commodores

2018    Greg Walsh

2017    Rick Foley

2016    George Pettengill

2015    Doug jones

2014    Tim Benoit

2013    Burleigh Loveitt

2011    Bob Vautin

2010    Dave Pierce

2009    Greg Salerno

2007    Andy Howe

2005    Tom Osborne

2004    Paul Wagner

2002    Peter Manning

2000    Chuck Barr

1999    Mike Snow

1998    Mike Snow

1996    Guy Gledhill   (Life Member)

1993    Paul Morin

1991    Larry Clough

1988    Bob Doran

1986    Tom Dobbins  (Life Member)

1971    Dick Ingalls  (Life Member)

© Centerboard Yacht Club, 2015
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software